Skip to main content

Yoast SEO Premium: Disable automatic redirects and notifications

The Yoast SEO Premium's redirects manager includes automatic redirect creation and redirect request notifications. In rare cases, you may prefer to turn off some of these features.

Disable automatic redirect creation​

Yoast SEO Premium monitors for URL changes and automatically creates a redirect. In most cases, this is ideal behavior in order to prevent visitors landing on a 404 error page. However, you can disable this feature by adding the following code to your theme's functions.php:

Posts and pages​

add_filter('Yoast\WP\SEO\post_redirect_slug_change', '__return_true' );

Taxonomies (categories, tags etc)​

add_filter('Yoast\WP\SEO\term_redirect_slug_change', '__return_true' );

Note: If you see the redirect created notification and you have not changed the URL or slug, this is most commonly caused by a conflict. Please check for conflicts by following the steps in this article.

Disable redirect notifications​

When you delete content on your site, we display a reminder notification to add a redirect for the removed item. We highly recommend adding redirects for removed items. However, you can disable this feature by adding the following code to your theme's functions.php file. Please note that this only hides the notification message and so redirects may still be created silently behind the scenes.

Posts or pages: Moved to Trash​

add_filter('Yoast\WP\SEO\enable_notification_post_trash', '__return_false' );

Posts or pages: Changed URL​

add_filter('Yoast\WP\SEO\enable_notification_post_slug_change', '__return_false' );

Taxonomies: Moved to Trash​

add_filter('Yoast\WP\SEO\enable_notification_term_delete', '__return_false' );

Taxonomies: Changed URL​

add_filter('Yoast\WP\SEO\enable_notification_term_slug_change', '__return_false' );